Mouth Cancer Foundation, Mouth Cancer Awareness

donate online

Return to main web site (leave the Online Support Group)   |   To support the Mouth Cancer Foundation, you can now make online donations!
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Post surgery symptoms
 Login/Join 
posted
hi,
This is my first time posting in here. I was diagnosed with tongue cancer back in late June.
im 36 years old, never smoked, dont chew tobacco and am not a heavy drinker. I had surgery on July 9th. The doctor took about 1/4 of tongue out, maybe smaller, didnt need a graft. also, he did a neck dissection from my ear to middle of my jaw. They took out 8 lymph nodes which turned out negative. The doctor released from the hospital only 2 days after surgery. We'll i had to go back to hospital cause i had an abcess in my neck, a pretty bad abcess. I was in hospital an extra 5 days while draining it. After being released from hospital, i had to go to the clinic to get more drainage with the needle (twice). We'll its been a tough recovery. these are the symptoms i have had.
1. VEry tight neck, feels like someone choking me and i can eat ok but still feels constricted
2. Still have numbness on my neck and part of my cheek and when i laugh my lip is crooked so i look kind of wierd laughing. right now im in my 10 week since surgery.
3. When i do strenous excercise or working, it feels like my tongue gets more numb and harder to talk and side of neck feels puffier, dont know why?
4. Sometimes i get the feeling they(doctor) did
not get it all. It sometimes feels like i have another lump on my tongue.
5. Theres a small bump under my tongue, maybe size of a beanie baby bean in my tongue but not visible on the outside (Doctor says its probably scar tissue?)

Has anyone dealt with this? How long before i can some feeling in my neck and part of cheek?
Swelling seems to go up and down, mostly up when im working or excercising.