Mouth Cancer Foundation, Mouth Cancer Awareness

donate online

Return to main web site (leave the Online Support Group)   |   To support the Mouth Cancer Foundation, you can now make online donations!
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lump inside tongue
 Login/Join 
Picture of racheal
posted
Hello.

I've been smoking for only a few years, and yes I am quitting right now.

A few days ago, I noticed a lump, about 1/2 an inch long, inside the left portion of my tongue.

It does not hurt, there is no discoloration, swelling, numbness or anything of the sort.

Other than the fact it is a lump, there is no indication that it could be cancer.

I've checked web sites extensively, and have found no mention of having any lumps inside the tongue, but on top of the tongue.

However, I am scared out of my mind, and my doctor's appointment is a few days away.

Any ideas?

Posts: 1 | Location: houston texas | Registered: 15 September 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Dr Vinod K Joshi
posted Hide Post
Hello Racheal
Soapbox It is always a good idea to stop smoking. Smiler

Look at Figs. 1.37 and 1.39 in Examination Technique with Normal Findings and Structures Mistaken for Disease for pictures of normal appearances. Some lumps seen at the back of the tongue are often part of the normal scenery.There are large bumps on the top surface of the back of the tongue called circumvallate papillae located along the "circumvallate line" and contain taste buds that confer the sense of sour and bitter to the back of the tongue. A lingual tonsil can also be quite prominent and are mistaken by patients for cancerous growths .

Hope that helps give you some peace of mind until your appointment.
Best wishes
Vinod Coffee

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Dr Vinod K Joshi,

Disclaimer: Please see your own dentist/doctor for a proper diagnosis as my words should not, in any circumstances, be taken as dental/medical advice.